Good cat


What do you need for a cat?
Tips for caring of your pet.

HOW TO CARE FOR CATS AT HOME PROPERLY?

Greetings everyone! If you have a cat at home, you need to realize that it, like any other family member, has its own mandatory needs and requirements, which are important to consider and satisfy....

Here is what you need to buy for your fluffy in the first place: a litter box, several convenient bowls, food, a scratching post, a scratcher, a comb or a brush, a couple of toys (for a start), a carrier, a special shampoo, cat lotions (for eyes and ears), possibly a bed or a special pillow... And now about everything in detail:

the cat needs these items

 

1. WHAT KIND OF A LITTER BOX SHOULD I CHOOSE FOR MY CAT?

Toilets for cats come in different types and sizes: with and without bars, as well as house-shaped or open. The most important thing is to make sure that the litter box you buy is to your cat's liking. It will be clear at once. If the cat is interested and starts to master the purchase, then everything is fine. If not - try to persuade the cat or buy another model. From my own experience, I want to say that too tricked-out litter trays are not so much liked by kitties. Most often pets choose ordinary spacious toilets without bars and roofs. But here everything is very individual...

A) First of all, a cat litter box should not be too small. Your pet needs to be able to fit in there in its entirety and to fidget without scattering the litter.

B) If a litter box has walls (sides) that are too high, a cat may simply not want to overcome the obstacle... and go somewhere else.

C) The very thin plastic of a litter box may crack when you wash it or in the case of falling, so it is better to choose a cat litter made of thicker plastic.

D) You should also choose a litter box that is not too light so that a cat can't knock it over.

E) A cat litter should not have a strong odor, clog between the fingers and cause allergies.

what kind of litter box for a cat

 

2. WHAT KIND OF A BOWL SHOULD I BUY FOR MY CAT FOR WATER AND FOOD?

To begin with, there should be 2 or better 3 bowls and they should be washed before pouring a new portion of food. Water should be poured into a deep container and should not be placed near dry food. The water should be changed at least once a day.

The choice of bowls in pet stores is diverse. In fact, you can buy any bowls from the offered in the range, but here is the main thing about it: if you take plastic dishes, the plastic should be of high quality, odorless. Iron bowls aren't bad either, and they don't break.

Our cat chooses food bowls made of unbreakable thick porcelain of medium size with sides. And he's been used to drinking water from a small pot since he was a baby.

I've heard of such option as drinking fountains. They say that they are good and many cats like them, but we have not tried drinking from the fountain yet.

But what to feed a cat and what food to choose? - is a vast and interesting topic. You can learn about it in our other article on this site by clicking on the link: "What do cats eat?"

WHAT KIND OF BOWL SHOULD I BUY MY CAT FOR WATER AND FOOD

 

3. WHICH SCRATCHING POST SHOULD I CHOOSE FOR MY CAT?

A scratching post is a very useful thing in a cat's life, because claws grow quickly and need to be sharpened. It is an instinct, not a whim, to tear up your sofa or chair. That's why buying a scratching post is a good idea.

A) The scratching post should be made of natural material: jute, sisal or cardboard.

B) In the natural world, cats sharpen their claws on trees with thick bark, so, in our opinion, vertical scratching posts are more suitable.

C) I have asked many breeders about scratching posts and their opinion is that pedigree cats, which are participating in shows, need to have a well-developed chest and strong paws to achieve high results. In this regard, they choose whole cat complexes with vertically standing scratching posts so that the cat can wrap two paws around the post and exercise. The rib cage develops better in this position.

D) But such a useful cat complex - simulator simply does not fit into my ordinary apartment – and our cat Jordan (World Champion WCF) uses an ordinary scratching post made of cardboard, attached to the wall. I must say that he does it with pleasure. However, the cardboard scratching post has a significant disadvantage: pieces of cardboard fall on the floor and they need to be removed.


4. IS IT NECESSARY TO TRIM A CAT'S NAILS AND HOW TO DO IT?

I asked Rimma Panarina, an experienced breeder of Neva Masquerade cats, to answer this question. Here's what she had to say about claw clipping:

A) Let's make it clear right away, we are not talking about cruel claw removal surgery on cats. Such surgery is very painful and should be banned. Just imagine having the phalanges of your fingers removed; cats become disabled as a result of such an operation.

B) Cutting the cats’ claws is a necessary thing. And not only so that the cat does not scratch you or the furniture. The fact is that the claws, just like human nails, grow constantly, but not always, especially at home, grind well enough. Due to the fact that the claw grows too long, it can grow into the pad of the cat's paw, and this is very painful. Therefore, the claws on the paws both front and back, should be trimmed.

C) What is the correct way to trim claws? It is best to do this procedure when the cat is calm, not when it is playing and too excited. Take special claw clippers in your hands; you can buy them in a pet store. Press lightly on the paw pad so that the claw comes out. Cut only the very tip of the claw (2-3mm), never touching the pink triangle, where the blood vessel runs.

 

how to properly trim a cat's claws

 

5. WHAT KIND OF TOYS DO CATS LIKE?

Nowadays, pet stores have a large selection of cat toys, from very expensive to cheap. But cats do not like everything that is sold there. From my experience I can say that the most playful for us are small mice and various balls. But expensive and complicated gizmos almost do not arouse interest.

Here are the top 5 favorite toys of our cat:

1st place is a plastic ping-pong ball. The cat races it almost every day.

A bought small gray mouse confidently occupies the 2nd place. It can be carried in his teeth and hidden in secluded places. But the mouse is gray in color – our cat doesn’t like white and black mice.

3rd place – a homemade small whirligig, made from a water bottle cork and a wooden stick. This game should be played together with the cat, as he can't spin the whirligig himself.

The 4th place goes to Karlusha. It's a soft little bird with a sensor. If you touch it, the bird chirps loudly. Jordan needs Carlusha to vent. If our cat is offended by someone, he approaches the bird and pats it with his paw, it squeaks, and the cat calms down.

The 5th place - a purchased teasing stick with a string and a fluffy pompom.


6. WHAT IS THE BEST CAT CARRIER BAG?

A) The cat carrier should not be too small for the cat. A cat should feel comfortable and not be cramped in the carrier. It will be good if your cat treats the carrier as its own house.

B) It must have the right amount of airflow.

C) Choose a carrier made of quality, preferably natural materials. The smell of plastic, rubber and glue is harmful to your pet.

D) When buying a carrier, make sure that it has good fasteners and locks so that the cat cannot open it on its own.

E) Carriers that have a rigid bottom are good. They don't sag and cats feel comfortable in them.

F) Personally, we often travel with our cat, so we chose a carrier - a backpack, and even on wheels. Such a carrier can be carried behind your back, as well as carried as a cart bag.

Today, there is a wide range of carriers in pet stores, so you can find something that will suit you and your cat.

 

cat toys

 

7. SHOULD A CAT HAVE ITS OWN PLACE IN THE HOUSE?

With this question, everything is quite simple. Most often, cats choose a personal place in the house themselves – where it is convenient for them to rest. It can be a chair, a soft chair or an open empty shelf of the closet. But if there are several pets living in your house at once, then the best solution will be to buy a soft bed or mattress for each of them. Some kitties love to sleep in baskets, others like cat houses, and others don't like pet store beds at all. As they say, everyone has their own preferences.


8. HOW DO YOU WASH A CAT AND DO YOU HAVE TO DO IT?

On the question of whether cats should be bathed, the opinions of pet owners differ. Some believe that cats can cope with this procedure perfectly well by themselves. And washing is only a strong stress for the pet. But there are such situations when it is necessary to wash a cat...

Of course, if a cat desperately lashes out, scratches and is panic-stricken of water - it is not worth bathing him by force. For such special cases there are good dry shampoos and wipes to clean the hair from dirt. Special drops on the withers and other veterinary means help you get rid of fleas.

Another matter when the animal is tolerant of bathing. If this is your case, then a cat should be washed at least 2 times a year.

There are some cats that participate in international exhibitions, and then bathing becomes a necessity. So how to wash a cat?:

A) First of all, you need to buy a special cat shampoo from a pet store. It is better if it is not heavily perfumed and of excellent quality. The choice is quite large. You can find a shampoo for every coat and sensitivity at different prices.

B) In the house for bathing the cat it is better to have a small trough or bath basin of medium size. The trough is placed in a tub and half filled with warm water. Then a cat is put in it, so that only the lower part of the body stays in the water, and a head and the second half of the body remain on the surface. Wet the fur well and carefully with your hands, but do not wet ears and a muzzle.

C) When the coat is wet, shampoo is applied and richly frothed. Then rinse thoroughly. You can shower, but make sure that the water does not get into ears.

D) After washing your cat, dry it with a well absorbent towel.

E) If your cat is not afraid of a hair dryer, then drying it with a gentle and warm stream of air is the right thing to do. But if the cat is afraid, then wipe its coat with a towel until it gets semi-dry and take the pet to the room without drafts, turn on the heater and wait for the cat to dry itself.

F) If your cat has long hair, it should be combed with a special comb or brush after drying.

G) I will add that cats' ears should be cleaned too, but not with water, but with a special lotion using gauze swabs, cotton disks and sticks, without going deep into the ear.

That's all. Thank you for your attention and see you soon.

cat wash



The GOOD CAT website presents:


"If you've called the cat and it hasn't shown up, it means there's not a proper rapport between you... or maybe the cat is too busy right now..." (The Good Cat)

A SELECTION OF ARTICLES ABOUT CATS:

How to introduce cats for mating; What does it take to participate in a cat show; Cat stories; Raising a cat; Cat breeding regulations.

Neva masquerade cats drawing

MORE ARTICLES ON THE SITE:

Cat shows
WCF rules
Photos of the cat
What to feed a cat
The cost of a cat

CONTACTS:

starostina3@gmail.com

WhatsApp: Julya Starostina

© Good cat

Хороший кот


Что нужно для кошки?
Советы по уходу за животным.

КАК ПРАВИЛЬНО УХАЖИВАТЬ ЗА КОТАМИ И КОШКАМИ ДОМА?

Приветствую всех! Если у вас дома появилась кошка, то необходимо понимать, что у неё, как и у любого другого члена семьи, есть свои обязательные потребности и нужды, которые важно учитывать и удовлетворять…

Вот что нужно купить для домашнего пушистика в первую очередь: лоток, несколько удобных мисок, корм, когтеточку, когтерезку, расчёску или щётку, пару игрушек (для начала), переноску, специальный шампунь, кошачьи лосьоны (для глаз и для ушей), возможно - лежак или специальную подушку… А теперь обо всём подробнее:

эти товары нужны коту

 

1. КАКОЙ ТУАЛЕТ ВЫБРАТЬ ДЛЯ КОШКИ?

Туалеты для котов и кошек бывают разных видов и размеров: с решётками и без, а также, в виде домиков или открытые. Самое главное, чтобы приобретённый вами лоток понравился коту. Это будет понятно сразу. Если котик заинтересуется и начнёт осваивать покупку, то значит – всё хорошо. Если нет – попытайтесь уговорить питомца или покупайте другую модель. По собственному опыту хочу сказать, что слишком навороченные лотки не так уж нравятся котикам. Чаще всего животные выбирают обычные просторные туалеты без решёток и крыш. Но здесь всё очень индивидуально…

А) Кошачий туалет, в первую очередь, не должен быть слишком маленьким. Вашему питомцу необходимо спокойно там помещаться целиком и вертеться, не рассыпая наполнитель.

Б) Если у лотка будут слишком высокие стенки (бортики), то кот или кошка могут попросту не захотеть преодолевать препятствие… и справить нужду где-то ещё.

В) Очень тонкий пластик лотка может треснуть, когда вы его моете или при падении, поэтому правильней будет выбрать кошачий туалет из пластика потолще.

Г) К тому же, следует брать не слишком лёгкий лоток, чтобы кот не смог его перевернуть.

Д) А вот наполнитель для кошачьего туалета – не должен иметь сильного запаха, забиваться между пальцами и вызывать аллергию.

какой туалет выбрать для кошки

 

2. КАКУЮ МИСКУ КУПИТЬ КОШКЕ ДЛЯ ВОДЫ И ДЛЯ КОРМА?

Начну с того, что мисок должно быть 2, а лучше 3, и их следует мыть перед тем, как насыпать новую порцию еды. Воду хорошо наливать в глубокую ёмкость и её нельзя ставить рядом с сухим кормом. Менять воду необходимо хотя бы раз в сутки.

Выбор мисок в магазинах для животных - разнообразен. В принципе, можно купить любые миски из предложенных в ассортименте, но главное, если вы берёте пластиковую посуду, чтобы пластик был качественным, без запаха. Железные миски тоже неплохи, и они не бьются.

Наш кот выбирает миски для еды из небьющегося толстого фарфора среднего размера с бортами. А воду он ещё с детства привык пить из небольшой кастрюльки.

Я слышала о существовании питьевых фонтанчиков. Говорят, что они хороши и многим котам нравятся, но мы из фонтанчика пить ещё не пробовали.

А вот чем кормить кошку, и какой корм выбрать? – обширная и интересная тема. Об этом можно узнать в другой нашей статье на этом сайте, перейдя по ссылке: «Что едят кошки?»

миски для кошки

 

3. КАКУЮ КОГТЕТОЧКУ ВЫБРАТЬ ДЛЯ КОШКИ?

Когтеточка - весьма полезная вещь в жизни кошки, потому что когти быстро растут и их нужно стачивать. Это инстинкт, а не прихоть,- разодрать ваш диван или кресло. Поэтому покупка когтеточки будет нелишней.

А) Когтеточка должна быть из натурального материала: джута, сизаля или картона.

Б) В природе котики точат коготки о деревья с толстой корой, поэтому вертикальные когтеточки, на наш взгляд, подходят больше.

В) Я спрашивала многих заводчиков о когтеточках и их мнение таково, что породистым котам, участвующим в выставках нужно иметь развитую грудную клетку и сильные лапы, чтобы добиться высоких результатов. В связи с этим, они выбирают целые кошачьи комплексы с вертикально стоящими когтеточками, чтобы котик мог обхватить столб двумя лапами и упражняться. При таком положении грудная клетка развивается лучше.

Г) Но в моей обычной квартире такой полезный кошачий комплекс - тренажёр просто не помещается, и наш кот Жордан (Чемпион Мира по версии WCF) пользуется обыкновенной когтеточкой из картона, прикреплённой к стене. Надо сказать, что делает он это с удовольствием. Правда, у картонной когтеточки есть существенный недостаток: кусочки картона осыпаются на пол и их нужно убирать.


4. НУЖНО ЛИ СТРИЧЬ КОГТИ КОШКЕ И КАК ЭТО ДЕЛАТЬ?

Ответить на этот вопрос я попросила опытного заводчика Невских маскарадных котов и кошек. Вот что она сказала насчёт стрижки когтей:

А) Поясним сразу, речь не идёт о жестокой операции по удалению когтей у кошек. Такие операции очень болезненны и должны быть запрещены. Только представьте, что у вас удалят фаланги пальцев, котики в результате такой операции становятся инвалидами.

Б) А вот стричь коготки котикам нужно. И не только для того, чтобы кот не поцарапал вас или мебель. Дело в том, что когти, так же, как и ногти у человека, растут постоянно, но не всегда, особенно в домашних условиях, достаточно хорошо стачиваются. Из-за того, что коготь вырастает слишком длинный, он может врасти в подушечку лапки котика, а это очень болезненно. Следовательно, когти на лапках, как на передних, так и задних, стричь нужно.

В) А как правильно обрезать когти? Лучше всего проводить эту процедуру, когда котик спокоен, а не когда играет и слишком возбужден. Возьмите в руки специальные кусачки для обрезания когтей, их можно приобрести в зоомагазине. Слегка надавите на подушечку лапки, так, чтобы коготь выступил наружу. Обрезать надо только самый кончик когтя (2-3мм), ни в коем случае не задевая розовый треугольник, там проходит кровеносный сосудик.

 

как правильно обрезать когти кошке

 

5. КАКИЕ ИГРУШКИ ЛЮБЯТ КОШКИ?

На сегодняшний день в зоомагазинах большой выбор игрушек для кошек, от очень дорогих до дешёвых. Но котики любят не всё, что там продаётся. По своему опыту могу сказать, что самыми игручими для нас являются маленькие мышки и разные шарики. А вот дорогие и сложные штуковины практически не вызывают интереса.

Вот топ-5 любимых игрушек нашего кота:

1-е место занимает пластиковый шарик от пинг-понга. Его кот гоняет чуть ли не каждый день.

На 2-ом месте уверенно располагается магазинная маленькая серая мышка. Её можно таскать в зубах и прятать в укромных местах. Но мышка именно серого цвета, белая и чёрная коту не нравятся.

3-е место – самодельная маленькая юла, сделанная из пробки от бутылки из-под воды и деревянной палочки. В эту игру с котом нужно играть вместе, так как сам он крутить юлу не может.

4-е место - у Карлуши. Это такая мягкая маленькая птичка с датчиком. Если до неё дотронуться, то птица громко чирикает. Карлуша нужна Жордану, чтобы отвести душу. Если наш кот на кого-то обижен, он подходит к птичке и лупит её лапой, она пищит, и кот успокаивается.

5-е место – у покупной палки-дразнилки с верёвкой и пушистым помпоном.


6. КАКАЯ ПЕРЕНОСКА ДЛЯ КОШЕК ЛУЧШЕ?

А) Переноска не должна быть мала. Коту в переноске должно быть комфортно и не тесно. Хорошо, если кот воспримет переноску, как свой собственный домик.

Б) В неё обязательно должен поступать воздух в необходимом количестве.

В) Выбирайте переноску из качественных, лучше натуральных материалов. Запах пластика, резины и клея вреден для питомца.

Г) При покупке проверьте наличие хорошей застёжки и замков, чтобы котик не мог самостоятельно открыть переноску.

Д) Хороши переноски, у которых жёсткое днище. Они не прогибаются и котам в них удобно.

Е) Лично мы частенько путешествуем вместе с нашим котом и поэтому выбрали переноску – рюкзак, да ещё и на колёсиках. Такую переноску можно нести за спиной, а также везти, как сумку-тележку.

Сегодня в магазинах для животных достаточно большой выбор переносок, так что там можно подобрать то, что вам и коту подойдёт…

 

игрушки для кошки

 

7. ДОЛЖНО ЛИ БЫТЬ У КОТА СОБСТВЕННОЕ МЕСТО?

С этим вопросом всё достаточно просто. Чаще всего кошки сами выбирают личное место в доме, где им удобно отдыхать. Это может быть какое-то кресло, мягкий стул или открытая пустая полка шкафа. Но если в вашем доме проживают сразу несколько питомцев, тогда лучшим решением будет купить для каждого свой мягкий лежак или матрасик. Некоторые котики обожают спать в корзинках, другие любят кошачьи домики, а третьим совсем не нравятся лежанки из зоомагазинов. Как говорится, у каждого свои предпочтения…


8. КАК МЫТЬ КОТА И НУЖНО ЛИ ЭТО ДЕЛАТЬ?

По вопросу нужно ли мыть кошек, мнения владельцев животных расходятся. Некоторые считают, что кошки прекрасно справляются с этой процедурой сами. А мытьё – это только сильный стресс для питомца. Но бывают же такие ситуации, когда помыть кота надо…

Конечно, если котик отчаянно вырывается, царапается и панически боится воды – насильно купать его не стоит. Для таких особых случаев существуют хорошие сухие шампуни и салфетки для очистки шерсти от грязи. А от блох избавляются при помощи специальных капель на холку и других ветеринарных средств.

Другое дело, когда животное терпимо относится к купанию. Если это ваш случай, то мыть кота нужно хотя бы 2 раза за год.

Ещё есть такие коты, которые участвуют в международных выставках, и тогда купание становится необходимостью. Так как же помыть кота:

А) В первую очередь нужно приобрести в зоомагазине специальный кошачий шампунь, лучше, если он будет без сильной отдушки и отличного качества. Выбор достаточно велик. Можно найти шампунь для любой шерсти и чувствительности по разным ценам.

Б) В доме для купания кота лучше иметь небольшое корытце или тазик для бани среднего размера. Корытце ставится в ванну и наполовину заполняется тёплой водой. Затем в него сажается кот, так чтобы только нижняя часть туловища была в воде, а голова и вторая половина туловища - на поверхности. Осторожно руками хорошо смачивается шерсть, при этом уши и мордочку мочить нельзя.

В) Когда шерсть намокла, наносится шампунь и обильно вспенивается. Потом тщательно смывается. Можно душем, но смотрите, чтобы вода не попала в уши.

Г) После мытья котика нужно насухо вытереть хорошо впитывающим влагу полотенцем.

Д) Если ваш питомец не боится фена, то высушить его несильным и тёплым потоком воздуха будет правильно. А если боится, то вытирайте кота, пока шерсть не станет полусухой, а затем отнесите животное в комнату без сквозняков, включите обогреватель и дождитесь, пока кот высохнет сам.

Е) Если у вашего котика длинная шерсть, то после высыхания её следует расчесать специальной расчёской или щёткой.

Ж) Добавлю, что уши котикам тоже нужно чистить, но не водой, а специальным лосьоном с помощью марлевых тампонов, ватных дисков и палочек, не залезая глубоко в ухо.

На этом всё. Спасибо за внимание и до скорых встреч.

нужно ли мыть кошек



Сайт "ХОРОШИЙ КОТ" представляет:


уход за котом
Белый кот

"Если вы позвали кота, а он не явился, значит, между вами нет должного взаимопонимания… или, может быть, кот сейчас слишком занят…" (Хороший кот)

ПОДБОРКА СТАТЕЙ О КОШКАХ И КОТАХ:

Как познакомить кошку с котом; Что нужно для участия в выставке; Истории про кошек; Воспитание кота; Стандарты породы; Загадки и ребусы про кошек; Условия вязки.

невские маскарадные коты рисунок

ДРУГИЕ СТРАНИЦЫ САЙТА:

выставки
о системе wcf
фото кота
чем кормить кота
Сколько стоит кот

КОНТАКТЫ:

starostina3@gmail.com

Тел: 8-916-48-33-555

© Хороший кот